Coming Events

 

Brunonia Barry at Andover Bookstore

Thursday March 23rd at 6:30PM

The Fifth Petal

The Fifth Petal Cover ImageBeloved author Brunonia Barry returns to the world of The Lace Reader with this spellbinding new thriller, a complex brew of suspense, seduction and murder. 


When a teenage boy dies suspiciously on Halloween night, Salem's chief of police, John Rafferty, now married to gifted lace reader Towner Whitney, wonders if there is a connection between his death and Salem's most notorious cold case, a triple homicide dubbed "The Goddess Murders," in which three young women, all descended from accused Salem witches, were slashed on Halloween night in 1989. He finds unexpected help in Callie Cahill, the daughter of one of the victims newly returned to town. Neither believes that the main suspect, Rose Whelan, respected local historian, is guilty of murder or witchcraft.

Read more >

 

Dyke Hendrickson at The Book Rack

Friday, March 24th, 6PM

Nautical Newburyport

Local news reporter and historian Dyke Hendrickson will pay The Book Rack a visit to sign copies of his new book, Nautical Newburyport: A History of Captains, Clipper Ships and the Coast Guard. Hendrickson offers up a sweeping chronicle of the achievements of merchants, shipbuilders, sailors, and others who tied their lives and fortunes to the city's nautical industries.

"Newburyport was once the most dangerous harbor on the East Coast and one of its most prosperous. Local captains and sailors led the nation to battle during the American Revolution and founded the U.S. Coast Guard. They sent vessels to Bombay, the gold rush and the farthest reaches of the world. Author Dyke Hendrickson explores the perfection of the clipper ship, the city's famous Federalist mansions and the bold adventures from the Age of Sail. Follow the men and women of Newburyport into battle, into gales and into fortune or ruin." - Arcadia Press

Read more >

 

Abby Fabiaschi at Andover Bookstore

Thursday March 30th at 6:45PM

I Liked My Life

I Liked My Life Cover ImageAn emotional journey of love, loss, healing, and redemption. I rooted for every character. Lisa See, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Snow Flower and The Secret Fan

I Liked My Life is a treasure of a novel. Warm-hearted and clever, the story will keep you reading until the final delicious revelation. Diane Chamberlain, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

Warm and hopeful, this marvelous debut stands next to novels from Catherine McKenzie and Carolyn Parkhurst. Booklist (starred)

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Where'd You Go, Bernadette? comes a story from debut author Abby Fabiaschi that is "as absorbing as it is illuminating, and as witty as it is heartbreaking."

Maddy is a devoted stay-at-home wife and mother, host of excellent parties, giver of thoughtful gifts, and bestower of a searingly perceptive piece of advice or two. She is the cornerstone of her family, a true matriarch...until she commits suicide, leaving her husband Brady and teenage daughter Eve heartbroken and reeling, wondering what happened. How could the exuberant, exacting woman they loved disappear so abruptly, seemingly without reason, from their lives? How they can possibly continue without her? As they sift through details of her last days, trying to understand the woman they thought they knew, Brady and Eve are forced to come to terms with unsettling truths.

Read more >

 

Night in New Orleans Release Party at Cabot Street Books

Friday March 31st at 6PM

Image may contain: one or more people and text

Join us for the launch of Night in New Orleans: Bizarre Beats from the Big Easy from 6pm-8pm at Cabot Street Books & Cards in Beverly!
We'll be enjoying wine and snacks while signing and celebrating the release of the latest FunDead Publications creation, an anthology of short stories set in New Orleans, sister city to our dear Salem. We have been known to share readings of our work at our launch events, as well!

Read more >

 

Lisa Sugarman at Cabot Street Books

Lisa Sugarman at Cabot Street Books 

Untying Parent Anxiety

Saturday April 15th at 11AM

Raising the perfect child . . . it's our dream as parents. But the reality is: the perfect child doesn't exist. Yet parents everywhere are putting the full-court press on their kids to be perfect, fixating on raising them to be smarter, faster, more successful, and more popular than their peers. And that's making today's parents and their children crazy. In Untying Parent Anxiety, nationally syndicated humor columnist and author Lisa Sugarman reminds us that our kids aren't supposed to be perfect. (And neither are we.) They're going to screw up, make mistakes, and lose their way. And as soon as we embrace the idea that parenthood is not a straight line, we unlock everyone's full potential. Drawing on her life as the perfectly imperfect mother of two daughters and more than a decade of working in the school system, Sugarman deconstructs some of the biggest myths facing parents and offers advice and strategies to help soothe anxious moms and dads. Cycling through everything from friend drama and separation anxiety to playing nice and emotional development, Untying Parent Anxiety is a funny but honest journey through the most common stages of raising kids that reinforces that parenthood is a beautiful, imperfect work in progress.

Read more >

What's Your Story? -- Art of Memoir Panel

What's Your Story -- Art of Memoir Panel
Wednesday, April 12th, 7:00PM
King Hooper Mansion


Tickets are priced at $20 and are available online through Eventbrite, and locally at the Spirit of '76 Bookstore and Arnould Gallery.

Come meet our distinguished panel of writers and enjoy an evening of celebrating the art of the memoir. The authors will discuss their publishing journeys followed by an open Q&A session. There will also be an amazing selection of wines and local artisan cheeses to enjoy!

Meet The Authors

Dave Roper

Dave RoperNext to sailing, telling and writing stories is Dave Roper’s favorite pastime. His writing has been published in eighteen languages. Recent work includes the novel Rounding the Bend...The Life and Times of Big Red. His prior book, Watch- ing for Mermaids, was on The Boston Globe Bestseller List. He has written fea- ture stories for Cruising World, DownEast Guide, Sail, Sailing, Reader’s Digest, and Points East Magazine. Dave has been a captain of a 135ft. Mississippi River stern wheel cruise ship, and life-long cruiser along the coast of Maine.

 

Nina Sankovitch

Nina Sankovitch

Nina Sankovitch is the author of Tolstoy and the Purple Chair: My Year of Mag- ical Reading; Signed, Sealed, Delivered: Celebrating the Joys of Letter Writing; and her newest publication The Lowells of Massachusetts: An American Family. She has written for The New York Times and blogs for The Huffington Post, as well her own at www.readallday.org. Nina is also on instagram at thelowellsof massachusetts. A graduate of Tufts Uni- versity and Harvard Law School, she grew up in Evanston, Illinois, and now lives in Connecticut with her family.

 

Eva Salzman

Eva Salzman

Eva Salzman’s books include Double Crossing: New & Selected Poems, Bargain with the Watchman, and the anthology Women’s Work: Modern Women Poets Writing in English. Her poetry, fiction and non-fiction have been on BBC Radio and in The New Yorker, The Independent, The Guardian, Ploughshares, The Kenyon Review, and The Poetry Review. Libretti work includes commissions for the Uk’s National Opera Studio, and Cassandra, written for her composer father, Eric Salzman. Eva’s lyrics can also be found on Irish-born singer, Christine Tobins’ CDs.

Why shop Indie?

Why shop Indie?

When you shop at an independently owned business, your entire community benefits:

  • The Economy
  • Spend $100 at a local and $68 of that stays in your community. Spend the same $100 at a national chain, and your community only sees $43.
  • Local businesses create higher-paying jobs for our neighbors.
  • More of your taxes are reinvested in your community — where they belong.
  • The Environment
  • Buying local means less packaging, less transportation, and a smaller carbon footprint.
  • Shopping in a local business district means less infrastructure, less maintenance, and more money to beautify your community.
  • The Community
  • Local retailers are your friends and neighbors — support them and they’ll support you.
  • Local businesses donate to charities at more than twice the rate of national chains.
  • More independents means more choice, more diversity, and a truly unique community.

Let us organize a book fair for your school!

We have created a new book fair division which provides the best book fairs in New England. For details visit us at www.BestBookFairs.com.

Subscribe to HugoBookstores: Andover Bookstore, Book Rack Bookstore, The Spirit of '76 RSS