Coming Events

Upcoming Events

Elizabeth Wallace

Thursday September 8th at 7PM (Andover)

Garth Williams, American Illustrator: A Life       

Garth Williams, American Illustrator CoverThis is a biography of Garth Williams as an artist and an illustrator. It is the story of how his journey led him from winning sculpture awards at the Royal College of Art in London, to capturing the essence of frontier life in the American West, to rendering the humanity of beloved animal characters. The biography also explores the historical context that affected Williams life and art, both in the old world and the new. Against the frenetic pace of post-war suburbanization, Williams illustrations nurtured a connection with the animal world and with a vanishing agrarian life. By tapping into American themes, Williams spoke to a postwar yearning for simplicity.

Complete with more than 60 illustrations, this is the first full biography of Garth Williams written with the help and cooperation of his family.

Juliette Fay

Thursday September 22nd at 7pm (Andover)

The Tumbling Turner Sisters

For fans of Orphan Train and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from one of the best authors of women's fiction (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure and a last-ditch effort to save their family. | Read more >

Stephen Puleo

Thursday September 29th at 6:30pm (Andover)

American Treasures: The Secret Efforts to Save the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the Gettysburg Address

American Treasures CoverOn December 26, 1941, Secret Service Agent Harry E. Neal stood on a platform at Washington's Union Station, watching a train chug off into the dark and feeling at once relieved and inexorably anxious. These were dire times: as Hitler's armies plowed across Europe, seizing or destroying the Continent's historic artifacts at will, Japan bristled to the East. The Axis was rapidly closing in.  | Read more >

Margot Livesey

Friday October 14th at 6:30pm (Andover)

Mercury: A Novel

Mercury Cover ImageDonald believes he knows all there is to know about seeing. An optometrist in suburban Boston, he is sure that he and his wife, Viv, who runs the local stables, are both devoted to their two children and to each other. Then Mercury a gorgeous young thoroughbred with a murky past arrives at Windy Hill and everything changes. | Read more >

V

Why shop Indie?

Why shop Indie?

When you shop at an independently owned business, your entire community benefits:

  • The Economy
  • Spend $100 at a local and $68 of that stays in your community. Spend the same $100 at a national chain, and your community only sees $43.
  • Local businesses create higher-paying jobs for our neighbors.
  • More of your taxes are reinvested in your community — where they belong.
  • The Environment
  • Buying local means less packaging, less transportation, and a smaller carbon footprint.
  • Shopping in a local business district means less infrastructure, less maintenance, and more money to beautify your community.
  • The Community
  • Local retailers are your friends and neighbors — support them and they’ll support you.
  • Local businesses donate to charities at more than twice the rate of national chains.
  • More independents means more choice, more diversity, and a truly unique community.

Let us organize a book fair for your school!

We have created a new book fair division which provides the best book fairs in New England. For details visit us at www.BestBookFairs.com.

Subscribe to HugoBookstores: Andover Bookstore, Book Rack Bookstore, The Spirit of '76 RSS