Coming Events

 

Brunonia Barry at Andover Bookstore

Thursday March 23rd at 6:30PM

The Fifth Petal

The Fifth Petal Cover ImageBeloved author Brunonia Barry returns to the world of The Lace Reader with this spellbinding new thriller, a complex brew of suspense, seduction and murder. 


When a teenage boy dies suspiciously on Halloween night, Salem's chief of police, John Rafferty, now married to gifted lace reader Towner Whitney, wonders if there is a connection between his death and Salem's most notorious cold case, a triple homicide dubbed "The Goddess Murders," in which three young women, all descended from accused Salem witches, were slashed on Halloween night in 1989. He finds unexpected help in Callie Cahill, the daughter of one of the victims newly returned to town. Neither believes that the main suspect, Rose Whelan, respected local historian, is guilty of murder or witchcraft.

Read more >

 

Dyke Hendrickson at The Book Rack

Friday, March 24th, 6PM

Nautical Newburyport

Local news reporter and historian Dyke Hendrickson will pay The Book Rack a visit to sign copies of his new book, Nautical Newburyport: A History of Captains, Clipper Ships and the Coast Guard. Hendrickson offers up a sweeping chronicle of the achievements of merchants, shipbuilders, sailors, and others who tied their lives and fortunes to the city's nautical industries.

"Newburyport was once the most dangerous harbor on the East Coast and one of its most prosperous. Local captains and sailors led the nation to battle during the American Revolution and founded the U.S. Coast Guard. They sent vessels to Bombay, the gold rush and the farthest reaches of the world. Author Dyke Hendrickson explores the perfection of the clipper ship, the city's famous Federalist mansions and the bold adventures from the Age of Sail. Follow the men and women of Newburyport into battle, into gales and into fortune or ruin." - Arcadia Press

Read more >

 

Abby Fabiaschi at Andover Bookstore

Thursday March 30th at 6:45PM

I Liked My Life

I Liked My Life Cover ImageAn emotional journey of love, loss, healing, and redemption. I rooted for every character. Lisa See, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Snow Flower and The Secret Fan

I Liked My Life is a treasure of a novel. Warm-hearted and clever, the story will keep you reading until the final delicious revelation. Diane Chamberlain, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

Warm and hopeful, this marvelous debut stands next to novels from Catherine McKenzie and Carolyn Parkhurst. Booklist (starred)

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Where'd You Go, Bernadette? comes a story from debut author Abby Fabiaschi that is "as absorbing as it is illuminating, and as witty as it is heartbreaking."

Maddy is a devoted stay-at-home wife and mother, host of excellent parties, giver of thoughtful gifts, and bestower of a searingly perceptive piece of advice or two. She is the cornerstone of her family, a true matriarch...until she commits suicide, leaving her husband Brady and teenage daughter Eve heartbroken and reeling, wondering what happened. How could the exuberant, exacting woman they loved disappear so abruptly, seemingly without reason, from their lives? How they can possibly continue without her? As they sift through details of her last days, trying to understand the woman they thought they knew, Brady and Eve are forced to come to terms with unsettling truths.

Read more >

 

Night in New Orleans Release Party at Cabot Street Books

Friday March 31st at 6PM

Image may contain: one or more people and text

Join us for the launch of Night in New Orleans: Bizarre Beats from the Big Easy from 6pm-8pm at Cabot Street Books & Cards in Beverly!
We'll be enjoying wine and snacks while signing and celebrating the release of the latest FunDead Publications creation, an anthology of short stories set in New Orleans, sister city to our dear Salem. We have been known to share readings of our work at our launch events, as well!

Read more >