Marblehead Veterans Middle School Summer Reading Book Fair

The Spirit of '76 Bookstore is proud to present the 2018 Marblehead Veterans Middle School Online Book Fair! Shop the list from NOW through Sunday, June 10th and 25% of all sales will go to the MVMS Library to purchase new books for the upcoming school year! 


Parents, if you feel like grabbing a book or two for yourself, the school will still receive 25% of those sales as well provided that it is attached to a summer reading order.


All rising 9th graders must read at least one title from the list provided by MHS. That list can be viewed HERE

Below is the list for all rising 8th graders. Each student must read one of the three Laurie Halse Anderson Seeds of America books as well as one title from the general list.  

Happy reading!


 

Chains (Seeds of America Trilogy) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416905868
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2010

If an entire nation could seek its freedom, why not a girl?


Forge (Seeds of America) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416961451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 24th, 2012

For many readers, Forge "will be one of the best novels they have ever read" (starred review from Kirkus Reviews)


Ashes (Seeds of America Trilogy) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416961475
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books - August 29th, 2017

Return to the American Revolution in this blistering conclusion to the Seeds of America trilogy that began with the bestselling National Book Award Finalist Chains and continued with Forge, which Kirkus Reviews called "the best book you'll ever read."


Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt & Company - March 6th, 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.


The Hazel Wood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250147905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - January 30th, 2018

Welcome to Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood--the fiercely stunning New York Times bestseller with seven starred reviews everyone is raving about


The Bear and the Nightingale (Winternight Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101885956
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey Books - June 27th, 2017

Katherine Arden's bestselling debut novel spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice.

"A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up."--Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted


Crossing Ebenezer Creek Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781681196992
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury YA - May 29th, 2018

When Mariah and her young brother Zeke are suddenly freed from slavery, they join Sherman's march through Georgia. Mariah wants to believe that the brutalities of slavery are behind them, but even as hope glimmers, there are many hardships yet to come. When she meets a free black named Caleb, Mariah dreams in a way she never dared . . .


Gutless Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781328742063
Availability: Backordered
Published: Houghton Mifflin - September 5th, 2017

"The sports may hook readers, but the bullying will land them."--Kirkus The wide receiver best able to hang on to his quarterback's passes, Brock Ripley would be a star for the varsity team--if he could just bring himself to put his body on the line. But he can't.


Cheaper by the Dozen Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780060084608
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - May 28th, 2002

What do you get when you put twelve lively kids together with a father -- a famous efficiency expert -- who believes families can run like factories, and a mother who is his partner in everything except discipline? You get a hilarious tale of growing up that has made generations of kids and adults alike laugh along with the Gilbreths in Cheaper by the Dozen.


The Librarian of Auschwitz Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781627796187
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - October 10th, 2017

Based on the experience of real-life Auschwitz prisoner Dita Kraus, this is the incredible story of a girl who risked her life to keep the magic of books alive during the Holocaust.


The Phantom Tollbooth Cover Image
By Norton Juster, Jules Feiffer (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780394820378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling Books - October 12th, 1988

Hailed as "a classic. . . . humorous, full of warmth and real invention" (The New Yorker), this beloved story--first published more than fifty ago--introduces readers to Milo and his adventures in the Lands Beyond.


Fault Lines in the Constitution: The Framers, Their Fights, and the Flaws That Affect Us Today Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781561459452
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Peachtree Publishers - September 1st, 2017

Many of the political issues we struggle with today have their roots in the US Constitution.


Warcross Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780399547966
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 12th, 2017

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu--when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.


The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid Cover Image
By Colin Meloy, Carson Ellis (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062342454
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 24th, 2017

From the creators of the New York Times bestselling Wildwood Chronicles comes an original, humorous, and fast-paced middle grade novel about a band of child pickpockets—imagine The Invention of Hugo Cabret meets Oliver Twist.


Long Way Down Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481438254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books - October 24th, 2017

A Newbery Honor Book
A Coretta Scott King Honor Book
A Printz Honor Book
A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner for Young Adult Literature
Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young People's Literature
Winner of the Walter Dean Myers Award


Scythe (Arc of a Scythe #1) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781442472433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 28th, 2017

Two teens must learn the "art of killing" in this Printz Honor-winning book, the first in a chilling new series from Neal Shusterman, author of the New York Times bestselling Unwind dystology.


Sachiko: A Nagasaki Bomb Survivor's Story Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781467789035
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Carolrhoda Books - October 1st, 2016

This striking work of narrative nonfiction tells the true story of six-year-old Sachiko Yasui's survival of the Nagasaki atomic bomb on August 9, 1945, and the heartbreaking and lifelong aftermath. Having conducted extensive interviews with Sachiko Yasui, Caren Stelson chronicles Sachiko's trauma and loss as well as her long journey to find peace.


Love & Gelato Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781481432559
Availability: Backordered
Published: Simon Pulse - May 2nd, 2017

A New York Times bestseller

A summer in Italy turns into a road trip across Tuscany in this sweeping debut novel filled with romance, mystery, and adventure.


Beyond the Bright Sea Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101994856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - May 2nd, 2017

- Winner of the 2018 Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction -

From the bestselling author of Newbery Honor-winner Wolf Hollow, Beyond the Bright Sea is an acclaimed best book of the year.